178 Gateway Scholars Motivational Program

Oral Session
Special Sessions The Gateway Scholars Initiative was launched in 2010 by the Diversity in Agronomy, Crops, Soils and Environmental Sciences Committee, previously known as the Minorities in Agronomy Committee (ACS 528), to meet committee's objective of improving participation by students and professionals from under-represented groups in the agricultural and environmental sciences. With full support of the ASA, CSSA and SSSA, and the ACS528 Committee, the Gateway Scholars Initiative is designed to introduce high school students to the multitude of scientific disciplines that members of ASA,CSSA and SSSA are engaged in by inviting students and teachers from local high school(s) to attend the annual conference. Invited high school students and teachers have the opportunity to participate in major symposia and interact directly with scientists who are changing the world through research. At the end of the program, leading researchers and educationists deliver motivational lectures to the students. This opportunity is used to conduct a survey to get feedback from the students for further improvement. In 2010, fifty students from Eagle Rock High School within the Los Angeles Unified School District were the first to benefit from this program at Long Beach, CA. During the 2011 Annual Meeting of the Tri Societies held in San Antonio, TX, a total of 43 students and 6 teachers attended. This group of attendees was diverse as it comprised 66 percent Hispanic, 16 percent African-American, 8 percent Asian, 3 percent Caucasian and 8 percent Middle-Eastern. The event was covered by the local media. As in 2011 and 2010, the Diversity Committee would like to invite 10 students from each of 5 selected high schools with large populations of minority students in Cincinnati, OH, site of the 2012 ASA/CSSA/SSSA International Conference, and provide a unique experience to potential and future scientists and leaders of this nation.


Z Series Special Sessions
Tuesday, October 23, 2012: 12:00 PM-5:00 PM
Duke Energy Convention Center, Room 250, Level 2

Share |
Harjit S. Rekhi , Felicia Armstrong and Emily Fuger