290 Soil Physics and Hydrology Student Competition: I Lightning Oral

Oral Session
SSSA Division: Soil Physics
This oral session is an essential precursor to the S-1 student poster competition later in the day. In this "lightning" round, students are given 3 minutes to verbally introduce their posters. No more than 2 slides can be used for visual aids.
Tuesday, November 5, 2013: 2:45 PM-4:00 PM
Tampa Convention Center, Room 16

Glenn V. Wilson , Cristine L. S. Morgan and Markus Tuller
Glenn V. Wilson
2:45 PM
Introductory Remarks
2:50 PM
Temporal Patterns Of Glyphosate Leaching At a Loamy Agricultural Field In Denmark.
Trine Nørgaard, Aarhus University; Per Moldrup, Aalborg University; Preben Olsen, Aarhus University; Annette Rosenbom, Geological Survey of Denmark and Greenland, Danish Ministry of Climate, Energy and Building; Lis W. de Jonge, Aarhus University
2:55 PM
A Two Domain Mesopore and Matrix Model for Cracking Soils.
Dianna Bagnall, Texas A&M University; Cristine L. S. Morgan, Soil Health Institute; Kevin J. McInnes, Texas A&M University; Christine C. Molling, University of Wisconsin-Madison; James L. Heilman, Texas Agrilife Research
3:00 PM
Is Poiseuille's Law Valid in Rough Pores of Natural Porous Media?.
Behzad Ghanbarian, Wright State University; Allen Hunt, Wright State University
3:05 PM
Evapotranspiration Partitioning and Water Use Efficiency of Annual and Perennial Bioenergy Crops.
Yohannes Tadesse Yimam, Formation Environmental, LLC; Tyson E. Ochsner, Oklahoma State University
3:10 PM
Streaming Potential and Heat Pulse Methods for High Resolution Water Flux Estimates in Porous Media.
Pawel Szafruga, Utah State University; Shmulik Friedman, Agricultural Research Organization of Israel; Scott B. Jones, Utah State University
3:15 PM
Gas Diffusion-Derived Tortuosity Governs Saturated Hydraulic Conductivity of Sandy Soils.
Federico Masis, Aarhus University; Per Moldrup, Aalborg University; Deepagoda Thuduwe Kankanamge Kelum Chamindu, Aalborg University; Markus Tuller, University of Arizona; Lis W. de Jonge, Aarhus University
3:20 PM
Prediction Of The Soil Water Characteristic From Saturation To Hyper-Dry Region Based On Volumetric Particle Size Fractions.
Dan Karup Jensen, Aarhus University; Per Moldrup, Aalborg University; Markus Tuller, University of Arizona; Muhammad Naveed, Aarhus University; Lis W. de Jonge, Aarhus University
3:35 PM
Consequences of Simplification Versus Complexity in Estimating Unsaturated Travel Times in a Multi Layered Soil.
Sara E. Vero, Agri-Food and BioSciences Institute; Tristan G Ibrahim, Teagasc; Karl G Richards, Teagasc; Rachel Creamer, Teagasc; Mark G Healy, National University of Ireland; Owen Fenton, Teagasc
3:40 PM
Imidacloprid Miscible Displacement in SW Florida Flatwoods Soil Columns.
Jorge A. Leiva, University of Florida; Peter Nkedi-Kizza, University of Florida; Kelly T. Morgan, University of Florida; Davie Mayeso Kadyampakeni, University of Florida; Evelyn V. Fletcher, University of Florida; Augustine Muwamba, University of Florida
3:45 PM
Modeling Water Retention Characteristic of Porous Media: A New Triangular Pore Space Model.
Wenjuan Zheng, University of Delaware; Dani Or, ETH Zurich - Swiss Federal Institute of Technology; Yan Jin, University of Delaware
3:50 PM
Imidacloprid Fate and Transport in Florida Citrus Groves.
Evelyn V. Fletcher, University of Florida
3:55 PM
Underground Reactive Barrier to Attenuate Nitrogen, Phosphorus and Other Organic Chemicals from Agricultural Drainage.
Jonathan Paul Allen, University of Tennessee - Knoxville; Andrew Conrad Sherfy, University of Tennessee - Knoxville; Jaehoon Lee, University of Tennessee-Knoxville; Payton Mackenzie Smith, University of Tennessee - Knoxville; William Deforest Gray, University of Tennessee - Knoxville
4:00 PM