428 Climatic Stress Effects on Microbial Communities and Agroecosysem Functioning

Oral Session
SSSA Division: Soil Biology & Biochemistry
This oral session will focus on the response of soil microbial communities to climatic stress, including high temperatures and drought and subsequent impact on agroecosystems. The session will also focus on management strategies to promote climate change adaptation and microbial community resiliency to sustain agroecosystem functioning.

Soil Biology & Biochemistry

Wednesday, November 5, 2014: 10:00 AM-11:45 AM
Long Beach Convention Center, Room 104A

Share |
Veronica Acosta-Martinez and Jean E. McLain
Veronica Acosta-Martinez and Mussie Y. Habteselassie
10:00 AM
Introductory Remarks
10:20 AM
Predominant Bacterial and Fungal Assemblages in Agricultural Soils during a Record Drought/Heat Wave and Linkages to Enzyme Activities of Biogeochemical Cycling.
Veronica Acosta-Martinez, USDA-ARS; Jon Cotton, USDA-ARS; Terrence G. Gardner, North Carolina State University; Jennifer Moore-Kucera, Texas Tech University; John C Zak, Texas Tech University; David B Wester, Texas A&M University-Kingsville; Pratheepa Jeganathan, Texas Tech University
10:35 AM
Microbial Community and Functional Responses to Rainfall Manipulations in a Prairie Soil.
Lydia H. Zeglin, Kansas State University; Maude M. David, Stanford University; Ritin Sharma, Oak Ridge National Laboratory; Emmanuel Prestat, Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory; Peter J. Bottomley, Oregon State University; Ari Jumpponen, Kansas State University; Charles W. Rice, Kansas State University; Susannah G. Tringe, Joint Genome Institute; Nathan C. VerBerkmoes, Berg Diagnostics; Robert L. Hettich, Oak Ridge National Laboratory; Janet K. Jansson, Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory; David D. Myrold, Oregon State University
11:05 AM
11:20 AM
Microbial Dormancy Improves Development and Experimental Validation of Ecosystem Model.
Gangsheng Wang, Oak Ridge National Laboratory; Sindhu Jagadamma, Oak Ridge National Laboratory; Melanie Mayes, Oak Ridge National Laboratory; Christopher Schadt, Oak Ridge National Laboratory; J Steinweg, Oak Ridge National Laboratory; Lianhong Gu, Oak Ridge National Laboratory; Wilfred Mac Post, Oak Ridge National Laboratory
11:35 AM
11:45 AM